In the beginning….

Hi – my name is Carole.  In June 2004 my husband Bryan and I made our first trip to Maine.  I had always wanted to live in Alaska, but had given up on the idea because it was impractical and we needed to stay close to the Houston area to help my aging parents as it became necessary.  As an RN, and as the only daughter in the family, it was a given that I would provide or at least organize my parents’ care.  On that first trip as soon as we drove away from Bangor International Airport and headed towards Ellsworth, we both started to fall in love with Downeast Maine.  Besides the beauty of the area, we were struck by the friendliness and kindness of the locals – very much like Texans!  By the time we returned to League City, Texas we had started to formulate a plan to someday relocate to Downeast Maine when we retired.  This is the ongoing saga of undertaking the monumental task of relocating to Maine and building a home.  Special thanks to our friend Bev for giving me the idea for the title of my blog!  She and her family are now entitled to one free stay at the dream home …. soon!

One thought on “In the beginning….

  1. Pingback: Fast forward to 2015 | Bayous to Barrens

Leave a comment